Hail to The King

There have been times in my life when I have been a coward, times when I should have spoken up about my beliefs, injustices and even when people hurt me.

I sat quiet, bound by fear and assumed that my silence was safer than the sound of my voice.

Deep.

Today, I honor the King of Bravery – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. He is my hero.

Dr. King braved the seemingly unbeatable battle of segregation, risked his life daily, faced evil and fought violent injustice with LOVE until the day he died. He used his pen, his voice and his life to SPEAK OUT. As a result, I am free to use my pen, my voice and my life to honor him with COURAGE.

I owe him a debt.

As I reflect on his life, there is so much I want to say about who he was, but my words are insufficient. His life and the words he spoke were EPIC. So instead, I leave you with some of his quotes on which to meditate. Happy Birthday, Dr. King!

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”

“A man who won’t die for something is not fit to live.”

“I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.”

“In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.”

“An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.”

“He who passively accepts evil is as much involved in it as he who helps to perpetrate it. He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it.”

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”

“We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.”

Leave a Reply

